New Release Round-Up 24th September 2021

Out Today

Upcoming guest TOM SPEIGHT returns with his sophomore record 'Everything's Waiting For You', featuring contributions from regular collaborator Lydia Clowes alongside Olly and Gale from Turin Brakes. Tom will be joining us for an instore on Tuesday 12th October and if you'd like to come along all you need to do is purchase the album on CD or LP from us and pop a note in with your order.

'Bright Magic' is an elegiac, Berlin-inspired record from PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING, featuring appearances from Nina Hoss and Blixa Bargeld alongside PSB's usual mix of synths and samples, this time- as you might well imagine- with a distinctly Krautrocky feel.

Hotly tipped Wigan young guns THE LATHUMS draw on 80s indie for their James Skelly produced debut 'How Beautiful Life Can Be'. Johnny Marr-esque guitar jangle underpins frontman Alex Moore's earnest songwriting and, at times, impressively rapid vocal delivery.

'Yasuke' is the soundtrack album to the anime series of the same name by FLYING LOTUS. Built upon woody percussion and trap rhythms, frequent FlyLo collaborators Thundercat and Niki Randa appear alongside Robert Glasper and Denzel Curry on this tale of an African-born samurai in feudal Japan.

Blues rock guitarist (and a previous SK visitor) JOANNE SHAW TAYLOR returns with 'The Blues Album', produced by and featuring Joe Bonamassa. 

There's perfect sunny Friday afternoon music in the form of a couple of live albums from the current touring iteration of STEELY DAN: 'Northeast Corridor' is a career-spanning, hit-laden set, while 'The Nightfly Live' sees the same band run through Donald Fagen's iconic solo record in full from front to back. CDs are out today with vinyl to follow next week. Meanwhile, an electro-pop cover of the Dan's 'Time Out Of Mind' makes it onto the breezy solo debut from LOU HAYTER (New Young Pony Club, Tomorrow's World) 'Private Sunshine'.

ULRICH SCHNAUSS AND MARK PETERS round out their collaborative trilogy with 'Destiny Waiving' (Dinked Edition vinyl running slightly late on this one). Superchunk frontman and Merge Records founder MAC MCCAUGHAN releases an intriguing solo album, 'The Sound of Yourself' much more meditative than his usual output and featuring Mary Lattimore, Torres and Superchunk drummer Jon Wurster alongside the latter's Mountain Goats bandmate saxophonist Matt Douglas. Plus there are new albums from ALABAMA 3, SUUNS and BLANCMANGE.

Ed Banger Records present an intriguing Metallica remix from SebastiAN 'Don't Tread On Else Matters' on 12" vinyl, while the whole of BRITTANY HOWARD's debut 'Jaime' is remixed by some heavy hitters including Childish Gambino, Michael Kiwanuka and Bon Iver on 'Jaime Reimagined'.

Reissues and Compilations

A couple of comps well worth checking out this week: The star-studded 'I'll Be Your Mirror' pays tribute to 'The Velvet Underground & Nico' with covers from the likes of Michael Stipe, Bobby Gillespie, Iggy Pop and Thurston Moore; while 'Version Excursion' sees Don Letts take the helm of the always reliable 'Late Night Tales' series with a set of Caribbean cover versions from the likes of Ghetto Priest, John Holt, Quantic, Easy Star All-Stars and Khruangbin including thirteen exclusive tracks.

Plus there are some tasty coloured vinyl reissues from BLACK SABBATH, PIXIES and GARY NUMAN.


There's a *gulp* 30th anniversary edition of NIRVANA's classic 'Nevermind'. 

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN's 'The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts' is issued on 2LP and 2CD/DVD, 2CD/Blu-ray sets.

Previous post Next post


Leave a comment