New Release Round-Up 21st January 2022

Out Today

There's a big debut from much-hyped Leeds quartet YARD ACT. On 'The Overload' vocalist James Smith calls to mind his namesake Mark E. as well as Sleaford Mods' Jason Williamson as he inhabits a rogue's gallery of gammons on dyspeptic tirades but there are moments of genuine wonder and pathos under all the cynicism, not to mention some bouncy musical hooks. As well as standard formats, we've got our last few copies of the "Ghetto Lettuce" green vinyl.

'Good and Green Again' is the new album from shop favourite North Carolina folksinger-guitarist JAKE XERXES FUSSELL. Multi-instrumentalist James Elkington (Jeff Tweedy, Steve Gunn) produces and regulars Casey Toll, Libby Rodenbough and Nathan Golub return, while Joe Westerlund takes over from Nathan Bowles on the drumkit and two new collaborators make sizable impacts: trumpet/french horn player Anna Jacobson adds mournful new colours and Bonnie "Prince" Billy lends his vocals to soldier's ballad "Love Farewell". It's the first of Fussell's records to feature his own compositions alongside readings of traditional obscura and they prove to be among its highlights- from the nimble, ambulatory "In Florida" which bears some of the sonic signature of his friend and previous collaborator William Tyler, to the striking "Washington" inspired by words stitched into a rug bearing the image of America's first President. Fussell has again proven himself to be one of the foremost proponents of folk as a living, breathing artform. 

Plus there are new albums from BORIS (not that one), YEARS & YEARS, PALACE, JOHN MELLENCAMP and MILES KANE.

Dinked Editions

We've got two Dinked Editions out today with stock still available on both:
Irish quintet SILVERBACKS blend the angular wit of Television-worshipping contemporaries like Omni and BODEGA with touches of Sonic Youth and Broadcast on 'Archive Material'; electronic duo BOY HARSHER provide the moody and atmospheric soundtrack to their own short film 'The Runner'. 
Another three releases were announced this week: As QUINQUIS, Emilie Tiersen (wife of Yann) explores her Breton heritage on 'Seim'; much-loved indie-folkers (and previous SK guests) BEAR'S DEN's 'Blue Hours' promises to be the duo's most personal album yet; and HATCHIE's sophomore record 'Giving The World Away' sees Australian dream-popper adding touches of trip-hop and acid house to her sound under the supervision of producer Jorge Elbrecht (Sky Ferreira, Japanese Breakfast).


BEN HOWARD's huge debut 'Every Kingdom' gets a blue vinyl pressing and there's a standard vinyl pressing of the intriguing collaboration between STEALING SHEEP and THE RADIOPHONIC WORKSHOP 'La Planète Sauvage'.


'Electricity' is the fourth and most progressive album from IBIBIO SOUND MACHINE, produced by Hot Chip.

KANYE WEST's 'Donda' gets a physical release at last on double-CD set.

'Emotional Eternal' is the latest from MELODY'S ECHO CHAMBER, swapping Paris for the lofty climes of the Alps.

Previous post Next post


Leave a comment