New Release Round-Up 20th August 2021

A slightly belated New Release Round-Up this week as we've been getting back into outstore mode with our live events.

Out Now

On that theme, we have new offerings from two of our upcoming guests.

Multiple-time SK veteran NEWTON FAULKNER returns with 'Interference (Of Light)', a sprawling lockdown epic featuring over an hour's worth of new material and interludes which sees him employ a whole host of sounds in addition to his trademark acoustic acrobatics. We've still got ticket bundles available for his Memorial Hall appearance tomorrow!

JAKE BUGG's first album in four years 'Saturday Night, Sunday Morning' sees slick pop production augment his brand of fiery troubadour strumming and post-Arctics indie resulting in his most immediate record since the Mercury-nominated eponymous debut. If you've already booked to see him here next Tuesday, your album bundles will be available to collect.

New Zealand pop sensation LORDE releases her long-awaited third album 'Solar Power', again working with producer Jack Antonoff. As well as standard vinyl and indies sunburst yellow vinyl there's a "Discless Carbon Positive Format" (new one on us) which comes with a poster, booklet and hi res download of the album but no CD.

There's a trio of ace Dinked Editions, two of which have already sold out but standard formats are available: Bristol jazz duo ISHMAEL ENSEMBLE and Maribou State solo project SHIRE T. We're down to our last couple on 'Fever Dreams', the latest VILLAGERS album, a layered and languid evolution of Conor O'Brien's folk-inflected sound.

There's a first album in seven years from master songwriter JAMES McMURTRY; 'The Horses and the Hounds' cements his position as one of alt-country's very finest storytellers. San Francisco's DEAFHEAVEN continue their shift from metal to shoegaze with 'Infinite Granite'. Guitarist and Alan Lomax Archive curator NATHAN SALSBURG sets Hebrew psalms to music with the help of frequent collaborators Joan Shelley and James Elkington. Plus CHRISSIE HYNDE covers Bob Dylan on 'Standing In The Doorway', MARTHA WAINWRIGHT releases her first album in half a decade 'Love Will Be Reborn' and there's a pink vinyl pressing for OLIVIA RODRIGO's hit debut 'Sour'.


There's a belated Record Store Day release from RICHMOND FONTAINE whose classic 'We Used To Think The Freeway Sound Like A River' is pressed on gold vinyl.

The always excellent Be With Records reissue LEWIS TAYLOR's stone cold classic 1996 self-titled record, perhaps the greatest Britsoul gem of the nineties

Plus comic acting great and musical polymath MATT BERRY reissues two of his early records on new coloured vinyl pressings: 'Witchazel' and 'Kill The Wolf'


It may be summer but Q4 is squarely on the horizon as some pop heavyweights announced forthcoming albums this week. Chart behemoth ED SHEERAN's '=' is released on 29th October and is up for pre-order now, while LITTLE MIX celebrate their 10th anniversary with the career-spanning 'Between Us' featuring their greatest hits, collaborations and several new tracks from the now trio.

NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS will be released two volumes of rarities and B-sides on 22nd October. Curated by Mick Harvey, Part I is spread across 3CDs covering 1988-2005, while Part II is compiled by Cave himself and trusted lieutenant Warren Ellis spans 2006-2019. 

SANTANA looks to repeat the magic of the collaborative smash 'Supernatural' with brand new album 'Blessings and Miracles', featuring appearances from Steve Winwood, Chris Stapleton, Rob Thomas and the late Chick Corea. Plus Aussie indie outfit DMA's follow 'The Glow' with a new EP 'I Love You Unconditionally...'

Previous post Next post


Leave a comment