New Release Round-up 18th March 2022

Out Today

'For The Sake of Bethel Woods' is the first MIDLAKE album since 2013's 'Antiphon' and again sees guitarist Eric Pulido taking on vocal duties in the absence of founder member Tim Smith. A near-decade away doesn't seem to have prompted a musical shift, but that's no bad thing. Like breakthrough album 'The Trials of Van Occupanther', 'Bethel Woods' draws on 70s British folk-rock, psych and prog to create impressively textured songs where flute and mellotron add colour, while Pulido's softer instincts as a bandleader manifest in groovier basslines and hooky melodies. 

There are two long-awaited Dinked Editions released today. After being caught up in manufacturing delay limbo, you can finally get your hands on 'The Badgers of Wymeswold' from Slow Club/Wave Pictures supergroup THE SURFING MAGAZINES. And we still have stock of the Bidston Observatory-inspired 'Lieve' from acclaimed electronic producer HOLY OTHER.

There are brand new albums from a couple of previous SK guests in the form of SEA GIRLS' sophomore record 'Homesick', while FEEDER's 'Torpedo' is the follow-up to the UK Top 5 album 'Tallulah'. There are indies exclusives from CHARLI XCX, MATTIEL and SAM TOMPKINS

Out on CD this week: Jazz pianist BRAD MEHLDAU manoeuvres effortlessly from jazz fusion to romantic lyricism as he retools songs from prog greats Rush, Yes and Gentle Giant into sacred music with the help of vocalists Becca Stevens, Chris Thile and Cecile McLorin-Salvant alongside 'Mehliana' drum maestro Mark Guiliana on 'Jacob's Ladder', while 'Motomami' is Spanish singer ROSALIA's first since her breakthrough crossover hit 'El Mal Querer'.


A couple of seminal FRANK ZAPPA live dates 'Live at Rainbow Theatre' and 'Live at Fillmore East' are issued on triple-vinyl.

There are vinyl releases for PEARL JAM's two-part retrospective 'Rearviewmirror: Volume 1' and 'Volume 2'.


A couple of big pre-orders announced this week. ARCADE FIRE's 'WE' is their first album in five years, while 'Will Of The People' is the ninth album from MUSE.

Previous post Next post


Leave a comment