New Release Round-Up 11th February 2022

Out Today

Texas indie rock institution SPOON teased tenth album 'Lucifer On The Sofa' as their purest rock 'n' roll record to date and it proves to be the case. Setting out its stall with a stomping recasting of Smog's "Held", it proceeds to pile through a taut set of immaculately constructed tunes propelled by the stabbing chords and muscular drumming of co-founders Britt Daniel and Jim Eno. If 2019's Best Of 'Everything Hits At Once' was a timely reminder of an absurdly consistent three-decade recording career, 'Lucifer On The Sofa' proves that Spoon are still scaling thrilling new heights.

BIG THIEF's sprawling double-album 'Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You' was pieced together from four separate sessions in locations across the US which took five months and yielded some 45 songs, pared down to 20 for the record. It was a concept pitched by drummer/producer James Krivchenia in order to best showcase the breadth of Adrianne Lenker's songwriting and it works brilliantly, displaying the full spectrum of the band's sound from alt-country Americana to ragged Neil Young/Crazy Horse rockers, to clean emo arpeggios and confessional singer-songwriter fare. Both a microcosm and an impressively coherent synthesis of their career to date.

'The Dream' is the fourth full-length from experimental pop outfit ALT-J, blending vocal polyphony, samples and offbeat songs about computers, cocaine and cryptocurrency. A deluxe CD replicates songwriter Joe Newman's notebook and there's an indies exclusive transparent violet vinyl.

'FTHC', or FRANK TURNER Hardcore, is the singer-songwriter's ninth solo album sees him re-engaging with his punk roots on CD, deluxe CD and indies red vinyl. 'Flicker' is the latest solo outing from Ride's ANDY BELL. 'Sea Drift', the third album from THE DELINES, adds soulful string/horn charts to Willy Vlautin's novelistic songwriting and Amy Boone's world-weary croon. '4' is the new album from SLASH feat. Myles Kennedy and, out on CD, are the latest EDDIE VEDDER solo album 'Earthling' (vinyl TBA), a new Kit Downes album for ECM 'Vermillion' and a physical issue of KANYE WEST's 'Donda'.

There's a long-awaited vinyl issue for last year's excellent collaboration between session bass maestro PINO PALLADINO and composer/guitarist Blake Mills 'Notes With Attachments'


EVERYTHING EVERYTHING's 'Raw Data Feel' is the second album to be issued on the band's own label after 2020's ace 'Re-Animator', again produced by guitarist Alex Robertshaw.

GNOD waste no time in following up November's 'La Mort du Sens'. 'Hexen Valley' sees the post-punk collective in jam mode at Hebden Bridge Underground studios.

'Headful of Sugar' is the third album from New York trio SUNFLOWER BEAN, produced and mixed by UMO's Jacob Portrait.

Ahead of his 89th birthday, country legend WILLIE NELSON announced 'A Beautiful Time' featuring covers of The Beatles and Leonard Cohen alongside new material and songs written for Willie by the likes of Chris Stapleton and Rodney Crowell.

Blues fusion artist FANTASTIC NEGRITO traces his 18th century ancestry on 'White Jesus Black Problems'.

Live Events

This week we announced our first live event of the year as hotly tipped Liverpool band THE MYSTERINES join us on Saturday 12th March to promote the release of their debut album 'Reeling'. Tickets and Bundles can be purchased here.

Previous post Next post


Leave a comment